Mayor & Council

The Borough of Rockaway government consists of an elected mayor and six elected council members. The mayor serves a four-year term, and each year two council members are elected to three-year terms.


2019 Mayor and Council Meeting Schedule


 2014 - 2015 - 2016 - 2017 - 2018 - 2019 Mayor and Council Agendas and Minutes




2019 Members of the Governing Body

Honorable Russell Greuter, Mayor (term expires 12/31/19)


Borough Council Members

Melissa Burnside (term expires 12/31/19)

Thomas Haynes (term expires 12/31/21)

James Hurley (term expires 12/31/21)

Joyce Kanigel (term expires 12/31/20)

Thomas Mulligan (term expires 12/31/20)

Robert Smith (term expires 12/31/19)


Mayor and Council Meetings

Council meetings, which are held at the Community Center, 21-25 Union Street, begin at 7:30 p.m. and are open to the public. Regular meetings are held the second and fourth Thursdays of the month. 


2019 Standing Committees of Council


Finance & License Committee
James Hurley - Chairperson
 Joyce Kanigel and Robert Smith, Members


Fire Committee
Melissa Burnside - Chairperson
 Joyce Kanigel and Thomas Mulligan, Members


Ordinance Committee
Joyce Kanigel - Chairperson
Melissa Burnside and James Hurley, Members 


Personnel Committee
Thomas Haynes - Chairperson
James Hurley and Robert Smith, Members


Public Safety Committee
Thomas Mulligan - Chairperson
 Melissa Burnside and Thomas Haynes, Members


Public Utility and Works Committee
Robert Smith - Chairperson
Thomas Haynes and Thomas Mulligan, Members



Powered by